Adult Girl Scout Uniform

Quick Quiz!  What is the official Girl Scout Uniform for Adult Volunteers?

 

 

According to GSUSA,  it’s a navy business outfit with an official scarf and your membership pin tab.

Yeah, that’s not what I wear in any of my roles.  Sorry, GSUSA.

As a Troop Leader, I wear clothes appropriate to the activity (jeans and t-shirts for meetings, with hiking boots and bandanas added for camping).  As a Community Leader (the new name for Service Unit Manager, which I am not fond of), I wear nicer clothes, put on jewelry, and maybe put on makeup.  As a Facilitator, I wear khakis and a darker shirt which identifies me as a Council Volunteer (as required by my Council).

Houston, we have a problem.

I’m kind of a casual dressing person.  In my head, I look like this, very subdued and loose, kinda boho (but not crazy), nothing glittery or neon.  My jewelry is usually more like this, though. *grins*  We’ll talk jewelry later.

But business attire?  Um, nope.  Not in my closet.  I am a mostly Stay at Home Mom, with some Jewelry Teacher thrown in on the side.  These are not careers which call for a suit.

And navy?  Seriously?  Ooooh, boy.  I don’t wear anything navy except denim.  I love blues, don’t get me wrong! But navy is so somber; I prefer teals.

Okay, so I will have to acquire the required uniform.  Now comes problem #2.  While, in my head, I am this tall willowy figure who can wear anything, in reality I am a tall plus sized woman who carries a lot of her weight in a well distributed way.  I do not have a shelf butt, nor am I exceedingly top heavy.  Think of it this way: I have an hourglass figure that holds enough sand for 2 days. 😉  I find tight structured clothing extremely restrictive, and frankly it doesn’t serve me well, style-wise.  Most suit jackets for some bizarre reason end right across the hip, which on me would kind of point out where I am widest.  Doesn’t that break a fashion rule somewhere???  And while Anna Marie Chavez may be able to really rock a standard business suit; to me, it is just reminiscent of a badly designed corset.

Don’t even get me started on trying to shop for a good looking suit.  If you are a plus sized woman, then you have gone through the process explained exceedingly well (with images) here at Buzzfeed.  One thing they don’t mention is that even though there are a huge number of online options available now, 99% of them use “plus size” models who are a size 12 or so, so the customer has NO realistic idea of how the clothing will look on them.  We just get the slender look they want us to think their clothes can give us.

So, add it all up, and my best option is to make my own.  I will get something in fabrics I know will travel well, sized to fit me exactly, in a style that will make me feel comfortable and confident.  Here is the pattern I plan to use (notice the woman on the package is plus size!).  I love waterfall style jackets, and they will look so great with scarves – which is something I will have to practice wearing in a professional way.  I usually use them for my hair! 🙂  I will be getting white or ivory sleeveless shells to go under the jacket (because I don’t really get cold easily), and a nice green based blouse that I can wear with my suit.  I plan on getting one pair of more standard suit pants to expand my wardrobe for the week.  (I’ll get more specific in a future post.)

One of my fellow possible delegates (who has been there, done that 3 times) said that any official uniform is acceptable at the National Council Sessions, so she is going to be rocking the green one from the 70’s!  🙂 Not my style, but I really like the scarf’s design.  I would have to sew 2 together, though – it’s only 36″ long.

Leave a Reply

