Why Troop T-shirts are Worth Making

Samples for the bleach technique Troop T-shirts, IDs, and More
Samples for the bleach technique Troop T-shirts, IDs, and More

I am the lead Facilitator (trainer) for a training session called Troop T-shirts, IDs and More. It’s held twice a year at our big training events, and I usually have two sessions of it. One of which was last weekend. Thankfully, the Spring session is a repeat of the Fall, so I didn’t have to do a lot of prep work for this one.

One of the things I like to stress is why it’s important to make Troop T-shirts, and the main reason is why I am posting about it here. The main reason I think it is important to make Troop T-shirts is that when you are in a large group of Girl Scouts, you can easily scan to find YOUR Girl Scouts. As I said when I talked about the last Convention, at large Girl Scout events, there are likely to be hundreds or even THOUSANDS of girls wearing the same Girl Scout uniform as the girls in your troop, and being able to count noses without resorting to holding the hands of your 5th graders is invaluable.

20140326-171740.jpg
Our last Community Weekend. Notice the two Daisy troops in front with matching shirts? That’s what I’m talking about!

Also, imagine taking your girls to Disneyworld.

*shudder*

So, I would encourage you to grab some paint, dye, bleach, crayons, or any of a bazillion other craft items and decorate t-shirts with your girls. You don’t have to be an artist, and whatever feelings you may have about your artistic inadequacies are going to exist in your girls, too; so use this as a tool to help them learn that you don’t have to be an “artist” to be creative.

Here’s a link to my Troop T-shirts, IDs, and More Pinterest Board. And as a special bonus, I’m including a download link to the handout from my last version of the training session, where I taught how to make sandpaper/ crayon transfers. There’s a lot of good info on there from how to modify the basic idea for all the levels to how to incorporate it into your troop’s badge work.

Leave a Reply

