New Suitcase

Last time, I told you about how I took advantage of a sale at eBags to get my Village Tote.  I also took advantage of an Ibotta rebate of $20 back when you spend $100.  Well, gee.  My Village Tote WAS $94, but then it went on sale; so now I guess I’ll just have to do more shopping.  DARN.

But what to get?  Well, I wasn’t really as thrilled about carting my husband’s 10 year old boring black carry-on with the broken zipper around the airport as I made myself out to be, and heeeeeey . . .  Is that a 19″ carry-on with spinner wheels in BLUE????

20140514-084412.jpg
Yes, yes, it is.

She is a beaut, and brought my total to just over $100, getting me my rebate.  She’s probably not the sturdiest carry-on in the world, but since my flights are few and far between, I’m okay with that.  She stands out and she stands up on her own, which are two things important to me. She does have an expandable gusset, but I’m going to try to plan my packing so I won’t be needing it.  She has a nice arrangement of pockets, and her handle is just tall enough to go up through the sleeve in my Tote and still be grabbable.

20140514-084442.jpg

She’s got a pretty interior, too, doesn’t she?  She’s a Rockland Mariposa (and I think we’re seeing why I keep calling it a “she”, huh?).  When I ordered her, I couldn’t get a good read on whether she was going to be a good bag, because there were any reviews.  So I looked at similar Rockland bags.  The biggest complaint I saw was that the bags I was reading reviews of did not have any handles on the sides to help pick the bag up for loading into overheads and down into car trunks.  As you can see in this pic, they added some for the Mariposa model, which cinched it for me.  (There were other complaints, but this piece was not bought to travel the world nor run down cobblestone streets.  Airport to hotel to airport, and not that frequently.)

20140514-084457.jpg

She is NOT huge, and will definitely force me to not overpack, which is something I need.  I have too much of the “I need to be prepared for ANYTHING!” mentality right now, which is why I am keeping my upcoming trip simmering on the back burner in my head.  Tweaking in my mind what I really need versus what I just want.  Reading travel-light websites really helps with that.

But as much as I love the ideas presented on OneBag.com, I can’t go with a duffel bag, as he recommends.  I’ve done it.  And what I remember is waiting in line, scooting my bags along the floor as we inch closer and closer to whatever we’re waiting for (check in, security, coffee, whatever), or carrying them on my back and shoulders, and no, thanks.  I appreciate the fact that duffels will squish into tight spaces, and will probably use my well loved duffel again if we go back to Florida.  I love using my duffel for camping.  If I go traipsing around Europe with my Troop, I might even backpack it.  I don’t know what I would bring on my long dreamed of trip to Japan – besides at least one empty bag.  But for this trip, and future trips like it, where I want to travel light, but have to look good and professional at the end of the flight, I think this is what is going to work for me.

I guess I’ll be reporting back on that at the end of October, huh? 🙂 But I am going to do a test run, and pack for our roadtrip summer vacation like I was flying carry-on style.  Instead of business suits, it’ll be shorts and t-shirts, but I’ll get a good idea of how my luggage performs.

Leave a Reply

