Sewing For Travel

I like to sew.  Honestly, most of the purses I own I have made.  When I couldn’t find a good hygiene bag for my son (they were all either too big or too girly), my next visit was to the fabric store .  No picture of that one, sorry.  It got was gleefully received and then disappeared upstairs.  But this is some of the sewing I realized I needed to do for my trip to Utah.  My Village Tote is a great bag, but it is one big cavernous hole that I will easily lose stuff in, so I am making little pouches as I find a need for them.  First up, a pouch for my chargers.

This is the interior view of the pouch above, with both my chargers in there.  There is still room for the backup battery for my phone and a mini charging station.  The pouch itself was made using this tutorial (quickly and sloppily *grins*).  The outside fabric is some pretty PUL that I found at Joanns – the only one my 7 year old wouldn’t consider too babyish or girly.  I got it to use as a waterproof lining for his hygiene kit (because we all know he’s just going to throw everything in there wet, right?).  Having my chargers in a waterproof bag is not a bad thing either. 🙂

Then, I decided I needed to get my cords wrangled.  So I used little bits of the fabric and this tutorial and made some power cable wraps.  Great project for using up scraps, btw.  I really like the chevrons on the fabric, since these are for power cords – it pleases the comic book nerd in me.

Leave a Reply

