I’d make a horrible birdwatcher.

2015/01/img_4162.jpg

I have always been the type to keep my eyes on the path ahead of me, metaphorically and literally. My gaze naturally falls to the place where I am about to step, searching for unsure footings and obstacles. I try to force myself to look up every few steps so I don’t miss the big things that are oncoming, but I would easily be defeated by a tree climbing ninja.

Ninjas aside, I do tend to miss a lot of stuff the flies over my head if I don’t stop every now and then and look around. But at the same time, it means that I notice all of the tiny details along the path, like this sweet little snake I found yesterday while walking back from dropping off my kids at school. I’m not sure why he was curled up on the sidewalk away from his warm den, but I hope he found his way back.

Leave a Reply

